Alexander, The Ultimate Cut…2014 film by Oliver Stone set for US Blu-ray release on 3rd June 2014

Posted: 24 March, 2014 in New Releases
Tags: ,
Read more News: Latest Cuts at MelonFarmers.co.uk

See Shopping List: Future Releases

Alexander Ultimate Anniversary Blu ray UltraViolet Alexander, The Ultimate Cut is a 2014 film by Oliver Stone.
Starring Colin Farrell, Angelina Jolie and Val Kilmer.US: The Ultimate Cut is MPAA Unrated for:

  • 2014 Warner Home Video [Theatrical Version + Ultimate Cut] RA Blu-ray at US Amazon released on 3rd June 2014

Version History

Exists in 4 versions: Theatrical Version, Director’s Cut, Final Cut and Ultimate Cut.

Director Oliver Stone spoke of this new Ultimate Cut:

On Alexander, I released a shorter version [in theaters] because of Warner Brothers issues. And I [was] also rushed. [When] I released the director’s cut — it wasn’t called a director’s cut . It was called The Final Cut because [earlier] there was a rushed director’s cut that I was responsible for. My third version three years later in 2007 was called A Final Cut and I actually added forty some odd minutes — which I think makes the film better.

I’ve been asked by Warner Brothers because they did so well with The Final Cut . They actually sold more than a million copies. They’ve asked me to go back next year and do a fourth version.

I want to cut it down now because I added too much. I want it to come back a little bit. There’s some trimming [needed].

See further details at Melon Farmers Film Cuts: Alexander

Promotional Material

Celebrate the 10th Anniversary of Alexander! Collectible 10th-anniversary edition includes the never-before-seen Ultimate Cut, The Art of Alexander photo book and insightful filmmaker correspondence. Based on the life of Alexander the Great, the epic historical drama is directed by Oliver Stone and features Colin Farrell in the title role. Two versions of the film will be included in this release – the theatrical cut and the forthcoming “Ultimate Cut.” Also included is the brand New documentary The Real Alexander and the World He Made which reveals how Alexander the Great’s vision of uniting East and West helped shape our modern world, and illuminates how different our lives might have been had his empire not fractured upon his untimely death at the age of 32.

Comments are closed.