A Legislative Dog’s Dinner…Graham Bright, now a police commissioner, spouts about his fear of video nasties being damaging for dogs

Posted: 8 June, 2014 in video nasty
Tags: ,
Read more Video Nasties News at MelonFarmers.co.uk

Video Nasties Definitive Limited Edtion Graham Bright was the Tory MP who put together the 1984 Video Recordings Act in response to the videonasties panic in the early 80s. He is now the Cambridgeshire Police and Crime Commissioner.The makers of the much anticipated documentary, Video Nasties: Draconian Days , have scored a a bit of a scoop. In a videoed interview which took place in the 1980s Bright spoke of his fears for youngsters and dogs. He said:

If anyone can stand up and defend the sort of horrific scenes that I have had to see and other members of parliament have had to see, I believe there are living in a different world to that world that I live in.

I believe that research is taking place and it will show that these films not only affect young people but I believe they affect dogs as well. It goes far too far.

Speaking about the interview this week, Bright told of his pride at introducing the act and desperately tried to gloss over his dog shite comment. He claimed to the Cambridge News:

That was a load of rubbish. I didn’t say they had an affect on dogs. I was saying they were researching it. I didn’t bother about that. I was trying to protect children.

Video Nasties: The Definitive Guide Part 2 , is being released on DVD by Nucleus on July 14 ( See Amazon) . It is released to tie in with the 30th Anniversary of the Video Recordings Act.

Comments are closed.